I finished the baby blanket on time for the shower tomorrow!

IMG_0648

IMG_0651

IMG_0652

Modeling for our pleasure in the bottom photo is the lovely Lupe.

The yarn is Crayon from knitpicks in cashew, gumball, and flamingo. I am using a variety of photos to ,hopefully, convey how drapey, sproingy and soft this fabric turned out.  All baby blankets should be made from this yarn.   If you wanted a full size blanket, you would need to use a tighter gauge because this is pretty stretchy.  I’d love to tell you my st-per-inch but the boucle garter stitch is tricky to count.  I used a size 7 needle. No noticeable shrinkage, either.

This next F.O. is a birthday present for a friend.  I used Ella Rae Silkience in Yellow.  It’s really more of a goldy-green.  The pattern is Dropped Stitch Scarf from ravelry. 

IMG_0645

IMG_0646

This one shows the bright, shiny threads that make this yarn so pretty.

I am hoping to start a garment soon but the time to do all the math and prep has been eluding me.

 

Non knitting related but noteworthy–

Please check out this podcast on raising globally aware students and how to save thousands on college costs.

Follow this link  and click on “global students”.  http://www.npr.org/rss/podcast.php?id=510053

The author’s website is http://www.mayafrost.com/

It’s a really inspiring story and totally worth your time.